Is the taurine in energy drinks vegan
Is Red Bull actually vegan?
Is Red Bull actually vegan? The energy drink manufacturer advertises that its products would give "wings". But are animals exploited or even killed for this?
The question of whether the Red Bull energy drinks are vegan is not unjustified. After all, many of the manufacturer's beverages contain the substance taurine, which is also found in animal products such as meat. This also applies to energy drinks from other manufacturers.
For a long time, vegans speculated about whether Red Bull was actually vegan or vegetarian.
In the meantime, Red Bull has announced on the website that the energy drink is ... vegetarian ... So Red Bull only answers the question of whether Red Bull energy drinks vegetarian are.
The wording is there (as of April 21, 2021):
Yes, Red Bull Energy Drink is suitable for vegetarians, because only ingredients of non-animal origin are used for the Red Bull Energy Drink.
There is no mention of "vegan" here, but the fact that only ingredients of "non-animal" origin are used suggests that Red Bull is vegan. At least the energy drink.
Many companies use terms such as "plant based" because they have prejudices against the term "vegan" or suspect such prejudices in their own target group. But sometimes also because z. B. animal additives can be used that do not have to be declared.
According to the list of ingredients and the statement on the manufacturer's website, it can be assumed that Red Bull is vegan. At least that's how we would classify it according to the Pareto principle.
Animal testing for lifestyle drink?
However, several animal welfare organizations point out that Red Bull is said to have financially supported animal experiments in the past. The "Doctors Against Animal Experiments" describe in a statement from 2007 experiments with rats that sound simply cruel.
But even if Red Bull has probably stopped this support and loudly invokes legal requirements against the blog vegan4love, we still lack a clear position against animal testing.
In our opinion, these are pure lifestyle drinks and nothing that should be in any way related to animal testing (neither directly nor indirectly).
According to the list of ingredients, Red Bull's energy drinks may be vegan. But morally we find the behavior in the past extremely uncool and not a bit inspiring.
The good news is: In a healthy vegan diet you don't need any "energy drinks" from energy-hungry tin cans. But since you probably already knew this, just decide for yourself how you invest your money.
>>> More than 5,100 have it: Vegan newsletter!
Author: Kilian Thirty
- Can I do funk jazz by playing the baritone
- Iron deficiency causes shortness of breath
- How can a Hindu convert to Islam
- Why is a cover required for the plate construction
- Who died in the year you were born
- What were Jimi Hendrix's best protest songs
- Who created the complexity theory
- What do you think of the Beatles
- What is azeotropic distillation
- How does an Oyster card work
- How do freelancers deal with imposter syndrome
- Why are spreadsheets so important
- How do you proactively respond to discouragement
- What are some cool hacks in the workplace
- How are options declared in Swift
- Can I marry my father's uncle daughter
- How do I get HBO on Firestick
- What is the best meat cutter
- Is my cat playful or scared?
- 130 is a composite number
- Does the Chinese dragon really exist?
- How much is the YouTuber Wroetoshaw worth
- Are South Koreans nice to foreigners
- Between Hyderabad and Vizag, which is bigger
- What is KT Extinction
- How to work out a syllable
- What does OTGS stand for
- All good people should be beautiful
- John McCain has a prosthetic hand
- What is the best fire retardant
- How does greed affect relationships?
- Why can't we have 3 presidents
- Who was the most decent Nazi
- What is the story of Amazon Prime