What is Snapchats Ghost Mode

Snapchat now has a ghost mode

The popular photo and video app Snapchat has two new features again. On Monday evening, Snap rolled out an update for the iOS app, which on the one hand contains the so-called ghost mode. On the other hand, Snapchat now lets you share links from other apps.

Snapchat users with an Android smartphone were already familiar with the latter function. With the update, which TechCrunch said was rolled out for iOS at the beginning of the week, this feature is now also being used on iPhones. IPhone users can now use the iOS share function to send links from any app via Snapchat. The link is then sent as a private message to one or more people. Brands and companies that want to share news or commercial offers with teenagers could benefit from this new function.

New for iOS & Android: Snapchats Ghost Mode

What was also rolled out with the update for iOS: the so-called ghost mode. This mode allows Snapchat users to wander off the Snap Map, which was introduced in June, for a period of 3 to 24 hours. Of course, you could simply deactivate the appearance on the map permanently. However, Snapchat sees the danger in this that you could forget to turn it on again. With the new ghost mode you are only incognito for a short period of time and then automatically reappear on the interactive map.

The ghost mode is currently only available in the iOS version of the Snapchat app, but it should also be rolled out for Android on Tuesday or Wednesday.